Students entering their senior year at Rumson-Fair Haven Regional High School this coming fall were honored on June 18 during a meeting of the RFH Board of Education. These high achievers have attained special recognition from nationally known awards programs for their accomplishments in academics, arts and sciences, and leadership.

Four students received awards from the University of Rochester in New York.  The Bausch and Lomb Honorary Science Award, provided by the global-based technology company, recognizes high school juniors who have distinguished themselves academically, are active and involved members of their school and community, and demonstrate an interest in advancing education and exploration. This year’s award was given to Leela Srinivasan.  The Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award in Humanities and Social Sciences is given to the student who demonstrates a commitment to addressing difficult social issues, a dedication to community action in a leadership role, and strong grades and rigorous courses taken in the areas of humanities and social sciences. Katherine Sherman has been announced as the winner of this year’s award.  The George Eastman Young Leaders award is named for the founder of the Eastman Kodak Company and given to high school juniors demonstrating strong leadership experience, high grades in challenging courses, and extensive involvement in extracurricular activities. Ryan Heard has earned this award.  The Xerox Corporation, known as a pioneering firm in the field of information technology, was founded by University of Rochester alma mater Joseph C. Wilson. The Xerox Award for Innovation and Information Technology recognizes students who share his vision and distinguish themselves academically. This award was given to Matt Sheehan.

Four students achieved recognition from the Rochester Institute of Technology in New York State. Kyle Burnett and Mary Conklin were announced as winners of the Rochester Institute of Technology Creativity and Innovation Award, which recognizes high school juniors who have distinguished themselves academically, are actively involved members of their school and community, and are outstanding achievers in innovation, creativity, or entrepreneurship. The Rochester Institute of Technology Computing Medal and Scholarship Award recognizes high school juniors who possess high levels of academic achievement, are actively involved members of their school and community, and demonstrate an interest and ability in the field of computing. Ralph DelNegro and Nicolette Dunphy are this year’s winners.

Katherine Godfrey earned the Rensselaer Medal awarded by Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, New York. This award recognizes high school juniors who excel in the areas of math and science and show an interest in the pursuit of careers in science, engineering, and technology.

The Lawrence Tech University Award for Excellence in Science and Mathematics recognizes high achievers in the study of these subjects as well as a proven commitment to good citizenship. Junior Schuyler DeBree earned this award.

The winner of this year’s Barnard Book Award, given by Barnard College in New York City, is Brigitte Fitzsimmons.

Alexis Fox has been chosen as this year’s winner of The Dwight D. Eisenhower Outstanding Leader of Character Award, given by the United States Military Academy in West Point, New York.

Students who have been chosen as participants in upcoming summer programs hosted by local universities were also honored at the meeting.  Brigitte Fitzsimmons has been chosen as a Delegate to the Girls Career Institute at Douglass College in New Brunswick. This award was sponsored by the Rumson Women’s Club. Junior Emilia DeWyngaert was announced as an alternate for this program. The Rotary Youth Leadership Conference at Monmouth University in West Long Branch will be hosting Delegates Lauren Melita and Jamie Reeves.  Christopher Brodsky has been chosen to represent RFH at the American Legion of New Jersey’s Boys State Civics Conference. Ryan Heard was named as alternate representative for this event, which is held annually at Rider University in Laurenceville.