Highlights From The Freehold Regional High School District

By Nicholas Deckmejian

During the September 12 Freehold Regional High School District (FRHSD) Board of Education meeting, recipients of 2016’s Support Staff of The Year Awards gathered to be recognized and congratulated. Mr. Sampson commended the work of the district’s support staff, saying they “go above and beyond on a daily basis” and that their “exceptional work exudes across the district.”

Nancy Niesz was the Colts Neck High School recipient. She has been in the district for 15 years and serves as a one-on-one paraprofessional within the Student Transition Employment Program (STEP) and Learning and Language Disability Program (LLD). She also supports students in After School Recreation Programs.

The superintendent commented, “This annual district award was created to recognize the hard work and dedication of our paraprofessionals. They work closely with the Child Study Team and teachers to help maximize student potential in the classroom, in extracurricular programs, during the After School Recreational program, and in our Extended School Year (ESY) summer program.”

During the September 12 meeting, Superintendent Sampson acknowledged Colts Neck High School’s new academic supervisor, Dr. Maria Steffero. Dr. Steffero will supervise the math and science departments. She holds a doctorate in mathematics and has previously served as the math team leader at Monroe public schools.